The Issue of Over-Thinking

This is something I, and a few of my friends, deal with quite often. Over-thinking things, simple things, things that aren’t really life changing for the most part. This is something I’ve dealt with for a while, and there’s really no explanation for it. Even this blog entry, I’ve been over-thinking because I wasn’t sure what it should contain, what it should be called, or if I should even do it at all.

For a couple examples, the first one being computer graphics, something as simple as a header or avatar on twitter or facebook can be enough to pretty much drive me crazy. After I select or create a photo, if it looks blurry, or off center, even if it isn’t, in my mind, it will just keep nagging me to change something, ANYTHING about it. It’s like a constantly creeping monster waiting to strike, all in the comfort of your cranium, always picking out one little thing that it wants to see changed, even if it’s fine the way it is. The second (of many) things is texting or talking to someone.

This is really a bigger issue with me. Each time I send a text, my brain always has to chime in to make me second guess what 26262I’ve just sent. And it’s such a dumb thing, but without fail each time I send one “Does that sound weird/creepy?” “Why did you just send that?” “That was dumb, just shut up before you make it worse!” Even before sending one, it feels the need to say “You are going to be bothering them, stop it!”.  Now, like on twitter or facebook,  I find it’s easier to deal with because it’s a large audience, and you aren’t focusing so much on what you say, because it’s a large group of differing people.  But when just talking/texting with one person, it’s really a hard thing to deal with, and it does make it hard to just communicate with someone out of the blue. The thing that is so hard about it, is you can’t really control it, at all. The mind is going to think what it wants, no matter what you try to do to, how to put this without sounding stupid, not think.

So then it comes down to figuring out a way to deal with it, because you can’t go through life not doing things because your brain tries to over-analyze and second guess every single thing you do or want to do.

The best way that I can describe how to control it, is literally to just deal with it. I mean, I know, sounds simple, but it’s something you’ve got to do. To manage it, pretty much you have to just go about your business, no matter what your mind tries to tell you to change, and to do differently. Your mind is going to go through the motions with each decision, and it’s something that you know you’ll have to deal with, but know you aren’t alone in this daily battle with the mind, as I’ve come to learn myself, as a few friends have told me they deal with the same issue. This is the problem with the mind, it can be a great friend, but at the same time, it can be a great foe. It’s just too bad you can’t erase that 2nd part of it.

3 comments

  1. Ah yes, the cursed over-thinking brain. I probably would have this if I actually had a brain filter. Well, scratch that, I do when it comes to writing. As evidenced by many, many deleted blog post, tweets, and texts.

  2. I am so glad you wrote this because I thought I was crazy for being this way. Heck, I worry about texting Dan because I don’t want to annoy him. It’s so frustrating, isn’t it? You want to talk to people but you spend more time stressing over what to say or what you said rather than just enjoying that you have them to text

    1. Exactly, I have trouble texting friends because I’m always nervous im going to be bothering them, or ill say something and they take it the wrong way. But then I know I have to text them once in a while, because I’d really not like to lose some of the awesome people I’ve still got around.

Leave a comment